March 23, 2013

Reiki Healing Therapy

Posted in Caregiver Tips, Childhood Cancer, Pediatric Cancer, Reiki tagged , , , at 5:26 pm by Sally Norris

reiki-symbolsI wanted to say something about Reiki (‘ray-kee’) and the big role it played in Shana’s recovery. Reiki is a natural healing process and involves the transfer of divine healing energy from the practitioner to the patient to enhance the body’s natural ability to heal itself and assist in relieving pain. Please look it up when you get a chance.

A couple of years before Shana became ill I took a Reiki class. At the time I felt compelled to do so but it was consistent with my lifelong interest in spiritual matters, energy bodies, the aura, thought forms, and whatnot. In our Reiki class, we learned that while doctors and nurses and modern medicine provide medical treatments, healing is spiritual.

When Shana was diagnosed, I started giving her Reiki treatments almost every day, and was amazed to see it helping her, supporting her, and keeping her ‘afloat’. It’s no exaggeration to say that the Reiki was a huge part of her getting well. It supported her during her chemo and radiation, it kept her nausea down (try driving with one hand on the steering wheel and using the other hand to apply Reiki to your child’s tummy!). It kept her alive during the year-long treatment. Following each Reiki session, Shana would feel better, stronger, and would be deeply relaxed, and she would sleep well.

I encourage everyone who reads this, especially if you have a sick family member, to look into it. If you would like more information, you’re welcome to contact me as I’m always happy to talk about how it helped my child. My Facebook page is A Reiki Blessing. ♥

Leave a comment